The original course design was completed by Stanley Thompson and has since undergone several major changes. In 1950, the original small clubhouse was replaced with the current clubhouse to allow for more parking. When Big Met opened, golfers traveled to the course by various modes of transportation including streetcar, foot, and horseback.
In 1964, a fairway irrigation system was installed and in 1967, holes #7 and #8 were lengthened and remodeled. A dominant characteristic of Big Met is the dike which helps hold back the Rocky River and can be seen from several vantage points.
With gentle rolling hills, moderate length, eight sand bunkers, and neatly trimmed rough, Big Met Golf Course has the ideal blend of scenic beauty and playability, yet the course is challenging enough for the advanced player.